Correlation trades?

Discussion in 'Trading' started by HezBallah, Jan 4, 2012.

1. I heard that one trade that can be made during periods of volatility is betting on the correlation of trades to lessen. Apparently in times of high volatility, the correlation of S&P stocks goes to like very close to 1. Obviously, one can bet that the correlation will decline from 1. How does one make that bet?

On bloomberg, how do you look up the correlation of all the stocks of the S&P?

2. I realize my question is asking for answers without providing much. The least I can do is explain a bit about why I'm asking. I'm currently a trader at a small prop firm who specializes in domestic equity. I do fairly well but I worry that my niche is small and becoming quickly saturated. I want to expand my knowledge of trading into other areas and I've been trying my best to observe everything in the domestic markets... but I haven't been able to learn much about international arb or traders in other markets involving options. I simply don't have access to them at my firm. So... I came here.

Also, I hope to provide some interesting discussion. I hope this can go somewhere.

-Hezballah

3. Here's one, technical, way to do it. I'll use the Dow 30 as my example. It involves holding two assets, one the index and one a basket portfolio of all the stocks that make up that index, with the correct weightings (an exact mimic). Variances swaps are the assets used to trade this.

If all 30 stocks in the Dow move by the exactly same amount on any given day over a period of time (e.g. all +1% one day, all -1% another day), their variance will be 'x'. If this happens then the variance of the stocks in the basket will be identical to that of the index.