Corallus Chronicles, ES Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Corallus, Nov 16, 2002.

1. Background: I first started trading full time in April of 1997. In those days, trading was like printing money. All you had to do was buy hot tech stocks on dips and you were virtually assured of making a profit. Although I had only read one book on trading and had no prior experience, I was immediately very successful--and I think that ended up being a bad thing. My ego swelled to the point where I started trading enormous positions, often without even putting in a stop. I made every trading mistake imaginable. As you might have guessed, before one calendar year had passed, I succeeded in nearly blowing out my account.

Well, I returned to the 9-5 grind in an office job that I hated. During those years, I read dozens of trading books, continued to watch the markets, and traded options when the boss wasn't looking. I was anticipating the day when I would be able to trade full-time again. Finally, in January of 2002, my improved financial situation permitted me to return to trading for a living full-time after I was laid off from a Silicon Valley firm.

I have been trading the indexes for about a year now, first in the form of ETFs (QQQ and SPY), and for the last several months in the form of the e-mini S&P futures (ES).

In subsequent posts, I will outline my trading techniques (they're very simple). And, of course, I will be posting my actual trades and my reasoning for each entry and exit.

I am hoping that I will be able to improve my performance and enhance my personal trading discipline through writing this journal. Hopefully this thread will be useful both to myself and to those who read it. Thanks!

2. I have three main types of trades that I take.