Cops in FL now carry assault rifles...

Discussion in 'Politics' started by Reaver, Jun 5, 2008.

1. Thoughts?

http://www.infowars.com/?p=2006

I am a FL resident.

It's a tough call.

Funny thing is that having an AR-15 doesn't necessarily mean shit. Many cops, etc simply don't have the self-control and presence of mind to handle one like a real operator under stress anyway.

Spend time in the military and you'll see it for yourself. I have seen some insanely bizarre/hilarious shit with firearms. I am sure anyone else who has served knows exactly what I am talking about. Just stupid shit people do. People assume that having a weapon means you will effective at wielding it....Life is not a movie.....you get some crazy cop out there who doesn't know what he's doing and he could spray a crowd like it ain't shit, totally on accident.

There are plenty of good cops out there. They are demonized the same way that many troops are these days. Unfortunately, the bad ones stand out far more than the good ones and give a bad rep for all involved.

At the same time, they seem to be being used more and more as tools of the establishment and not as protectors of the people.

So not talking shit about cops in general...it is the concept of the US becoming a police state that is concerning me.

On one hand, it is good to have well equipped police officers in the same manner it is good to have well equipped troops in warfare. Same concept.

On the other, when you are equipping a force under the control of corrupt leadership with vastly superior firepower in large numbers....bad shit can happen. Majorly UNCONSTITUTIONAL shit can happen.

Just wondering what anyone thought about this. Any FL residents care to comment? Or anyone for that matter.

Shit keeps getting more and more spooky every day it seems.

2. I'm a libertarian, and I am just as torn as you are.