Convinced on strategy but...

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by callahan, May 19, 2011.

1. callahan

callahan

OK guys... I would really like to hear your two cents on this, I relly on your advice as traders.

I have been trading for several years now but not until now I have felt comfortable with an specific strategy that I've developed to increase the size of my portfolio.

I developed a system (nothing fancy, lets say it is an strategy that is elegantly simple), after backtesting and paper trading I decided to start with a small portfolio, the results were good (again, I am not going to break the bank but they were good enough).

I have been trading with $10,000 and my plan all along was to increase it to $100,000 (most of my trading capital) if it proved to be good in real life... well I could not be more convinced the strategy gives me a small edge and it provides for decent returns. But here is where the problem comes in...

Even though I believed I was convinced and that I believed I had the balls to increase the size with no problem, I find my self (I'm even ashame to write it) afraid that I will not be able to stand the volatility in the bad days. It is different to lose $500 in a day than $5,000 even if it is the same % of the capital you are trading. What makes me crazy is that I KNOW the strategy works but as all strategies there are good days and also bad days... I am so chicken shit that I believe I will not be able to take the bad days...

Guys, how can I grow some balls????

PS: some more info, the strategy is US stocks, trading at the close (long or short) and holding for 24 hours (until next day's close). The $100k is money that has cost me an arm & a leg to save but I am willing to risk it as I don't need it for my daily expenses. This strategy was backtested 5 years and paper traded 3 months, I have been trading it with $10k for the last 4 months now.