Constantly shaken out

Discussion in 'Risk Management' started by ziyan, Mar 13, 2012.

1. ziyan

ziyan

Hi all,
    I'm still a novice trader. The market has been very good to me for the most part, but I keep getting shaken out of highly profitable trades prematurely (2nd straight time this month). I use discretionary stops based on daily profit loss percentages to around 2.5% (?which is substantial?)
    Here's my most recent trade:
    SZYM BOT on 3/7 @ 11.88 (knife-catching? crap, I know. sorry guys! Thought I saw good support from previous periods)
    3/12: Gap up @14.18, breaks 14,
    breaks 13.90,
    breaks 13.80, I type in my order,
    breaks 13.75, I brace myself,
    breaks 13.70, I vomit. and hit the sell.
    SOLD @ 13.65
    4:00 pm closes over 13.90. I curse the world.
    Today. Closes over 14.43. I am too chickenshit to get back in saddle. (trading on cash acct w/3-day settling) and I curse the world some more.

Now part of me pats myself on the back for making a profitable (albeit riskily initiated) trade. The other part kicks me for being a slight wuss in a bull market and not using wider stops. And of course, I always kick myself for trying to catch the falling knife so often.
    Can I please get some feedback on this trade?
    Any & all constructive criticism appreciated.
    Thanks so much!

2. jo0477

jo0477

I'm far from an expert, but my solution to avoid picking tops/bottoms was to start entering the majority of my trades on stops instead of limits. I mainly trade 6E and sometimes NQ in the evenings (6E mostly for liquidity purposes) and I had quite a bit of success initially trying to squeeze as many ticks as possible out of every trade. Then, things went south for awhile when the volatility really deteriorated and I found - same as you - that I was getting shaken out of good opportunities and getting shredded in the chop.