Consistent 5-10% monthly return possible?

Discussion in 'Forex' started by James Daniel, May 9, 2006.

1. Just a simple question to put out to those professionals who have been making significant gains for a decent time.

Is it possible for a day trader trading two currency pairs at 3% risk per trade to consistently maintain an average 5-10% per month? What are odds of a successful trader maintaining double this return?

I'm sure this has been asked before, but I am unable to locate any previous threads covering this.

2. why limit yourself to FX?

just find the right method or edge and markets
    that move

also ... what size acct are you talking about?

a mini acct , one with 1K or 100K ?

:)

3. I started in December 2005 with $10k using gfxsa. I've been averaging between 5-10% since February 2006. I originally started trading futures at the beginning of 2004, but it wasn't for me, I enjoy trading the EURUSD and GBPUSD.

I was just wondering if it's possible to maintain these types of returns, and if so, how common it was for traders to maintain such returns over the long-run?

4. what country do you live in?

do you trade part time or full time?

good luck to you

5. I reside in the UK and trade from 4am to 4pm EST (9am to 9pm GMT), although my trades don't really start until around 8am EST (1pm GMT) when the markets are the most volatile.

Do you trade FX and how do you find it?

6. 5 to 10% is absolutely doable. My group does this with virtually zero drawdown too. Diversification is achieved through trading uncorrelated markets, so I agree with Seth, don't restrict yourself to just forex (and I'd trade CME futures before cash forex).

From my experience, the key to low low draw downs and consistant returns is trading a mechanical system. (not necessarily automated). I used to be in the school of believing a mechanical system doesn't exist. Turns out that none exist, until you find one :)