Consistency is my goal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by mastacoli71, Jan 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Inspired by the few noteworthy journals I have come across last year, I decided to keep a public journal of my trading for 2011. It is something that I have definitely been lacking in the past due to my quick success in trading. I am hoping that posting in the public will keep me honest with my commitment to keeping a journal.

I have been trading full time since 2007. Prior to that, I was just another number in corporate America trying to work my way up the ladder. I built up the courage and broke free to follow a career that I knew in my heart I could succeed in. I was fortunate enough to find a mentor in the beginning. This definitely helped shorten the learning curve.

Trading through the financial crisis was a huge help in building my working capital that I have today. 2009 was not all that bad but definitely some bumps in the road; all things considered, still a decent year. In 2010, I was on track to beat my 2009 results until August hit. From that point forward it was a downward spiral until I decided to stop trading mid December to take a long needed break. I still finished up for the year but I knew something had to change.

My net PL goal for the year is $150k. I trade prop so access to capital is not an issue. The goal is conservative for me but it is a target I can live with and that will allow me to get back on track after the emotional rollercoaster from the 2nd half of 2010. I am starting off with $100k in my prop account. The weekly PL numbers I post will be net commissions. Another commitment is tracking my equity curve so I will try to post this monthly.

My main strategy in the past has been pairs trading. One of my goals for 2011 is to break out of my comfort zone and find more that fit my trading personality. In order to achieve this, I have made a commitment to myself to quantify each new strategy.