Considering a career change from aviation to finance

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by AirborneTrader, Mar 19, 2016.

1. Hello,

I'd really appreciate some advice as I have a lot to consider. I'll try and keep it short. I'm a corporate pilot, been flying for over 16 years. It's been an amazing ride but the work conditions in my business keep deteriorating. It's been a lot of fun but being constantly on the road is taking its toll. I'm never home and have not had a designated day off in 5 years. I'm flying more than ever and see no light at the end of the tunnel. No real job stability and I have no career backup. While my passion for this industry is long gone I am very passionate about trading. I've long had an interest in the markets. I trade actively and enjoy studying and learning about it, the markets and economics.

I'm considering leaving aviation and going back to University to finish a bachelor in Finance. And complete any necessary further education such as a Masters or financial certifications. By the time I complete my education and would start looking for work I'd likely be around 43 years old. Going from a jet captain with a comfy lifestyle back to school will be a huge hit, but I increasingly feel that I may need to do this. I have a few questions whose answers could be real helpful as I consider this:

1) I love the markets. I love to trade. I like to strategize and analyse. With that in mind what are some specific jobs in finance that I should consider shooting for. Portfolio manager? Market strategist? Financial analyst? A good one for the long run.

2) Any advice considering I'd be new to the business in my early 40s. I assume age is no factor, competence is. But if you have any opinions I'd appreciate it.