:confused:Need help with EMini Exits...

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by cknucks, Jan 30, 2004.

1. cknucks

cknucks

Hey folks. This is my first post. I discovered this website a couple of weeks ago, delighted to finally find some in depth insight on all kinds of trading. Finally mustered the courage to begin asking some pressing questions.

Quick background: I’ve been trading futures for 3 years, yet it has been only in the past six months that I’ve been only trading the indexes. I’ve also been trading stocks since 1995. I work fulltime, so my trading hours for short term trading are from 6:30-8:30pm PST and after 7:30pm PST. During the day, while at work I also place position trades, based on my night charting study, reading and 3-5 day view of the market.

In the mornings, I look for NQ trades, while at night I trade the HSI. I use Interactive and Bracket Trader to place these trades. I try to capture 3 point moves on NQ, mostly morning gap reversal trades, and 12 points on HSI. I’ve done okay on these trades, though I could do better. I place stops either just above/below a key level or at a set amount of points and do not trail.

It’s the position trades where I need the most help. Because of firewall issues, I trade through 5perside.com’s cumbersome browser based trading platform, so I can’t really get in and out like I’d like to.

I typically try to call the next multi% swing in the NQs with a 2% trailing stop. The x% trailing stop method has worked well for me over the years in stock trading—where I use 10% as x—but has been not so good in NQs. Most of my profitable trades, even on the long side, have turned into small losses.