Confused about Option value.

Discussion in 'Options' started by themadride, Oct 18, 2008.

1. Hey there.
    I'm pretty new to the options trading game. I get the underlining idea and have had pretty decent luck with my first few options adventures, but I have a newbie question about the value of an option in relationship to the increasing value of the stock.
    This evening I was looking at McDonalds (MCD) for some November Calls. The stock is trading at 53.80 at the close.
    The Nov 50 Strike (In the money) last sold at $6.50
    The Nov 55 Strike (OTM) last sold at $3.50

My confusion is that 53.80 (stock value) minus 50.00 comes to $3.80. If you subtract $3.80 from the premium of $6.50 it comes to $2.70. So, $2.70 is priced into the premium BELOW(or before) it was In the money.
    On the other hand, the Nov 55 strike is not even in the money and has $3.50 priced into the premium.
    I'm confused. With two calls with the same expiration date, it would seem that the contract IN THE MONEY would be the one worth proportionatley more.
    The basic thing I'm trying to figure out is that when I'm being completely bullish and just buying strait calls....where should I choose my strike price. I'm having trouble figuring out why I should select a strike price that is close to being At the Money? Why not just select cheaper contracts further away from the money if they are going to raise in value faster?

I hope some of that made sense. I'm still waiting on my Options Trading books to come from Amazon:) So, trying to figure some of this out now to take advantage of this market.
    Thanks in advance!
    Scott

2. As the option moves further in the money (ITM), there is proportionally more intrinsic value, and less volatility-derived time (theta) value.

You see this reflected in the option's delta. Very deep ITM options have deltas approaching 1. That is, they move close to 1-to-1 with the stock and are much less affected by volatility pops and drops.