confirmation before placing a trade (not pulling the trigger)

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Wallace, Jan 22, 2013.

1. "I think we all strive to minimize the level of uncertainty around our analysis
    but in the end it's a futile quest.
    Once we embrace it, we look at markets with a new perspective and horizon.
    When i started trading i was looking for

* confirmation before placing a trade *

nowadays i know this confirmation element is not necessary, and can even be detrimental.
    It has changed the way i look at things, even my own strategy.
    When you no longer need 'confirmation'
    because you know the uncertainty will always be present
    you become free to look at price action in a different way and simplify your approach."

by 'trendisyourfriend' (my editing)
    http://www.bigmiketrading.com/psych...ndrew-menaker-trading-psychology-webinar.html

thought the above in the singular catergory of excellent practical observation

but, how do we 'embrace uncertainty' , in order to trade freely ?

2. The best systems have two parts: setup and entry. The entry could be the confirmation that people talk about?

3. NoDoji

NoDoji

The carefree state of mind comes from knowing beyond a reasonable doubt that your trading plan, if followed, gives you a statistical advantage when applied to a series of trades over X time period. If you don't know that, then do the research and testing necessary to know that. That's as close to "certainty" as you'll get.

The only "confirmation" needed to pull the trigger is the absolute belief in Mark Douglas' Five Fundamental Truths:

Anything can happen.

You can make money without knowing what is going to happen next.

There is a random distribution of wins and losses that define an edge.

An edge is just the greater probability of one thing happening over another.

Every moment in the market is unique.

Lotsa good stuff here: