confidence ?

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by cashclay, Aug 29, 2023.

1. cashclay

cashclay

Before placing a trade do you guys always feel confident or just nothing at all? for some reason before a trade i always think what could go wrong with and then start to doubt it.

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. danielc1

danielc1

You need a belief in your system. Do you have a tradingplan? Do you know your style of trading in side out? What is the worst possible outcome? Maybe you are trading a too big position?

ironchef and murray t turtle like this.
  3. cashclay

cashclay

i’m not. my size is only 200 shares of stocks below 5
    i feel confident in my trading plans but then for some reason start to think about the money i could lose. i’m new to the trading and perhaps what i’m asking is how overcome this feeling. does it happen to everyone who starts off

4. Bad_Badness

Bad_Badness

There is a difference between confidence and competence.

Competence means all possible price action, reactions to those actions and trade outcomes are understood and a plan is in place for them.

Confidence comes AFTER competence.

If one thinks they have (or should have) confidence BEFORE competence, they are not being realistic about where they are in the trading process.

Edit: Saw your reply. Would suggest looking at trades in sets, say 30 or more. Work out the P/L and see where you would land. Lots of work, but better than "Gambling" without enough data. Also work more on how to exit a trade that is going negative and looks like it will head to the stop. It is totally fine to take a lot of BE after comms.

BluuFx, comagnum, oshjdf and 5 others like this.
  5. %%
    Sounds right;
    I seldom record feelings or thoUhts.
    IF my guts start [screams, feelings ] keep bothering me \I look @ some more charts,50dma/200dma ,bid\asks, charts, more charts, check my recorded entry price + profit, or P&L
    I have an advantage like anyone that reads studies;