Computer to Get Started

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by arthus, May 2, 2003.

1. arthus

arthus

Hello I'm just getting started, I'd like to know if this system would be ok to start watching the markets. I would upgrade the memory to 512 mb and get 56k modem.

I found this pretty good offer at E-bay for 170 dollars. I don't know anything about computer so please feel free to make any comments on this idea.

Dell Dimension XPS T600

Features at a glance
    Processor: Intel PIII 600 MHz
    Memory: 128 MB of RAM (768 MB Max)
    Hard Drive: 10 Gigabyte
    Drives: CD-Rom drive
    Floppy Drive
    Video: 2X AGP video card
    Sound: Sound Blaster Compatible
    PCI/ISA 4 PCI, 1 ISA (shares a card-slot opening with a PCI connector)
    Ports: Serial - 9-pin connector
    Parallel - 25-hole connector
    PS/2 - two 6-pin style, keyboard & mouse
    MIDI/game - 15-pin connector
    Video - 15-hole connector on an AGP video card
    Audio - three for line-in, line-out, & mic
    USB - two USB-compliant connectors
    Chassis: Mini Tower
    Software: No Software or Manuals are included
    Accessories: Keyboard, Mouse, Power cord
    Condition: Refurbished, Fully Tested & In Perfect Condition
    Warranty: 30 Days

Thanks for your help

2. nkhoi

nkhoi

boost the ram to the max, get a copy of win2K or xp pro and you should be good to go.

3. Whamo

Whamo

I owned an XPS T600 for severals years and didn't have any problems with it, it was a very good PC.

4. Trajan

Trajan

Second Monitor

5. prox

prox

Should be fine..

if you're daytrading with real time data, then cable or DSL should be a requirement.

17" monitor minimum also

6. I still use the Dell P3 - XPS750 and it works great!

Just make sure that you bump-up the RAM to 512mb, and upgrade to Windows XP Pro, and pop-in a graphics card like the MX-440 GeForce to run 2 monitors at the same time.

I run all of the above and get great executions on Andover's Hammer Platform.