computer problem...please help!!!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by HoneyBear, May 15, 2004.

1. just recently my computer started acting up on me. whenever i "restart" the computer, it will not restart and just make beeping noises for 20 seconds or so and won't boot at all. i turn the computer off and then i have to wait 20 to 30 minutes before booting up my computer (if i try turning it on before then, it will make those beep noises and won't boot).

i thought the hard drive was the problem so i went out and bought myself a new hard drive but am still having the same problem. so now i know that the hard drive was ok...what can it be? i'm not really good with computers and any info/comments would be appreciated.

2. EricP

EricP

I'm not a computer expert, but I do recall having a computer beep at me and not boot properly after I installed new RAM memory that turned out to be incompatible with the existing RAM that was already in the machine. Is there any chance that you just added some RAM to the machine? If not, it might be possible that one of your RAM sticks has gone bad (or is occasionally showing bad upon startup).

When I was troubleshooting the problem with the Dell technician a number of years ago, they pointed out that the 'beep codes' were in the instructions that came with the computer. The number of beeps is an indication of what the problem is. You may want to take a look at the documentation that came with your computer, then see if you can decipher the 'meaning' of the beeps.

Good luck,
    -Eric

3. That may be something overheating in the computer. If you leave it off for 20 or 30 minutes that gives it time to cool. I would check that all the fans are working in your computer and make sure that there is a fan on your CPU.

4. why not take it to a repair shop rather than throw parts at it? it could be something even as simple as a bad power supply..

-qwik