Comparing eSignal and QCharts

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by ccasadei, Mar 19, 2004.

1. ccasadei

ccasadei

I'm fairly new to trading and spent a significant amount of time researching TA tools... I've narrowed down my choices to eSignal and QCharts. Did a trial with both (created many workspaces, layouts, different chart layouts, quotes, etc...) ...
    Here are the things I like/disklike about each:

QCharts

1. Nice quote view, easy to add new symbols, being able to divide and sort on the division is awesome
    2. For some reason charts are a lot clearer than eSignal and most importantly they fit more bar than eSignal on the same same screen space
    3. Portfolio tracking (stop $, stop %, risk $%... very good) not present in eSignal
    4. Datafeed is not as reliable as eSignal
    5. Hotlists are awesome (have to pay extra for eSignal scan...)
    6. Drawing tools are much more precise
    7. Ability to browse websites and customize...

eSignal

1. Very easy to use with multiple monitors
    2. Datafeed is reliable and fast
    3. Like the ability of quickly switch time periods on advanced chart
    4. Like the ability to creating new indicators
    5. I can share charts, quote files, etc in multiples layouts...
    6. Very bad newsreader...

My biggest issue with eSignal are the quote view which is very hard to enter or arrange symbols, the portfolio feature which is very limited (not risk $, %) and the fact that the charts don't fit as many bar as QCharts (ofcourse using the same screen size)...

Any comments? Is there a new eSignal version coming that might solve some of these issues?

Just to be clear: I trade mostly stocks -- no options or futures.

Thanks for your input.

Here's a poll as well: which one do you use? QCharts or eSignal?

2. ccasadei

ccasadei

What's your opinion on the above features?

Very important? Not important... or maybe what are the main reasons you use one or the other ?

3. reg

reg