compare two symbols

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by btoovey, Mar 25, 2010.

1. btoovey

btoovey

Members,

Most software packages I have tried allow you to trade based on logic designed for one symbol. Are there software packages that allow you to consider market events from other symbols?

Say for example, I want to trade IBM, but I want to take into consideration the moving average of DJIA. Or I want to compare the difference in percent between the gain / loss seen on the DJIA and the gain / loss seen on IBM? This seems like a simple thing, but I have not found a software package that can do this.

I am a programmer, so technical programs don't scare me. What scares me is spending a bunch of time learning some software that later on I find can't do the job. So I took it upon myself to build my logic in perl and connect it to quotetracker, but I would like to move to a more robust platform.

Linux or Mac programs prefered.

Brian

2. januson

januson

hi btoovey

I have used MultiCharts quite a lot earlier, and it offers you the functionality you are seeking.

3. Takes all of about a minute or two in excel (assuming you are not referring to real time only).

4. You can do this in Easylanguage for as long as I can remember.

5. btoovey

btoovey

I could never find documentation on using multiple symbols in easylanguage

6. rosy2

rosy2

7. Confirmed. I have done it. Didn't make any money by doing it, but NT definitely can.

C# is a great toy language for getting stuff done. If you're not familiar with it, as long as you know how to code in any C++ type language, you will pick it up quick.

NTScript is just C# with a bunch of functions and global variables. Very easy.

8. Go to the TS main menu. Look on the left side at quick tips and open it. View creating Multi-data Charts; this is the basics.

9. Forgot to add….