Commodity Spread Limit Orders question

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by TWolf, Apr 2, 2012.

1. TWolf

TWolf

Relative newbie here (4 years part-time). Searched the forum; searched the CME site. Can't find a definitive answer.

Do spread limit orders in commodities exist? If so, how do I use them?

I frequently read/hear about their use but have been told by 3 different brokers that they don't actually exist. Others have said my broker(s) don't know what they're talking about.

Here's what I understand using an actual example that occured today:

SMN12/SMZ12

(I've already taken good profits and am still in the trade so decided to experiment with one position, considering it the "cost of education" so-to-speak.)

Spread was 20.40, premium to July (buy side; positive spread). Brokerage firm considers this a "debit spread". My only limit order options are "limit/buy" or "limit/sell". Verifying the "debit/credit" spread requirements, I submitted a "limit/buy" order ("debit spread") at 23.00 and was immediately filled at 21.00 (expecting that this would happen). Next, I submitted a "limit/sell" order ("credit spread") at 23.00; the order was rejected and cancelled.

Speaking with the broker I'm told: there are no such "resting" limit orders for commodity spreads; if I want to enter the market at a spread that is higher (wider) than the current spread all I can do is watch the market and when it reaches my entry level submit my order at that time. A limit/buy placed above the market will be filled immediately (which I understand in outrights); a limit/buy below the market or a limit/sell on a "debit spread" will be ignored or cancelled; the opposite occurs for negative (i.e., "credit") spreads. Effectively, there is no such thing as a "limit" order in commodity spreads - you get filled immediately at market or not at all.

This runs contrary to limit orders in the outrights where you place the appropriate limit order above/below the current market and wait.