(Commodity Futures Section) - Fundamentals - Historical case studies / Future macro-themes sources

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by wlnd, Jun 30, 2018.

1. wlnd

wlnd

Hi Commodity Traders,

Where can we learn fundamentals on commodities? this could be through learning historical case studies, like how agricultural farmers use hedges / sources of the world supply of wheat / understanding the cost of carry in specific products that cause gaps across different contract months

am also seeking good sources which attempt to understand future/current macro trends

as of now, I'm a flashlight part-time trader, with my eyes too focused on the ground, looking out for rocks, fallen branches / obstacles. trading off chart patterns. with an understanding of fundamentals in commodities, I'm looking for a beacon of light, as a destination. to learn to hold for big moves, if & when they come

Any help is much appreciated!

2. Handle123

Handle123

Use your flashlite on upper right corner where it says "search" and get tons of answers plus use bing or google your way for information, it not like we still using Britannica's.

beginner66 likes this.
  3. wlnd

wlnd

lol.. am hoping to look for "seasoned" answers, backed by experience that says; wished I knew these things x years ago. there are definitely many answers by search, but TOO many that are noise

4. Handle123

Handle123

LOL I been trading for forty years in stocks and 33 years in commodities, so guessing I am seasoned. I started long ago with funnie mentals, COT(they actually started in 1929). When price is low, in majority of commodities the commercials are adding to longs and opposite for shorts, but the reports are 2 weeks late. I trade very very long term commodities as trade more like a commercial, you never see bunch of them to go out of business. And I would never trust foreign countries to give correct documents. I think it is sugar and one other market, maybe platinum where "normal" is opposite.