Commodity Broker, trade on the side

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by newguy1, Nov 27, 2005.

1. newguy1

newguy1

Is it possible to be a commodity broker for a small firm and trade forex or futures for your own account?

I currently work as a trader, but prior to graduating I thought about becoming a broker. I had a position offered from Smith Barney, but they made it clear that I would not be allowed to trade my own account as a daytrader would.

I'm wondering if things could be different because i'd be working at a smaller shop (nobody has ever heard of it), and its futures, not equities.

I'd have to be series 3 licensed. Does this sound like something that can work, or am I going to get the same answer I got at Smith Barney, which was "no".

Is this going to be a conflict of interest?

2. Surdo

Surdo

It varies from desk to desk.
    I was an institutional trader and we had a "20 day holding period" and could not traffic in any names that were mentioned in any research in the past 48 hours.

I forgot to mention........a few guys were in and out of QQQQ, SPY and futures with no holding period. Then we were bought out for 2B!

Why not concentrating on your job?

3. newguy1

newguy1

I guess let me explain:

I didn't really want to spill this all out on the internet. But hey, this is who I am.

I got out of school earlier this year, and picked up a job working at HLV Capital. I made money right off the bat there but I had some concerns (not much, just like 50 bucks net a day after the 50/50 split; it was enough to live on.

The main one was that my managers tried to convince me to focus on recruiting and becoming a potential manager: "The real money is made in commissions and running an office, not trading"

So, at least they were honest about their intentions; they didn't really trade during the day.