Commodities Broker, but what next?

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by Papa Lazarou, Jul 27, 2010.

1. Hi guys,

I’ve read a few of the qualifications threads, but I would like people’s advice for my particular set of circumstances. So if you could spare a few moments to read my situation and offer any advice that would be great.

I work for a broking house on one of their commodities broking desks (Exchange traded derivatives, not OTC). The company is FSA registered and is a registered FCM with the NFA in the US. In my current job we don’t deal with retail clients, all clients are institutional.

Just a little background. I have passed the following (in order)....
    • I graduated about 6 years ago. I have a 1st class degree (Computing and Business ) – Not from a Red Brick unfortunately.
    • SII Level 3 Certificate in Administration (IAQ)
    • SII Certificate in Derivatives. ( Unit 1, and Unit 3), and registered with the FSA under my company as an ‘Approved Person’
    • Series 32 (NFA) Only needed to do one bridging exam here because of the SII Cert being recognised by the NFA. So under my company’s name I am registered with the NFA as an ‘Associated Person’. We don’t even have any US based clients, but I asked to do the exam anyway and the company agreed.

Now, I have been working on the desk for about 3 years (having no previous experience of broking). All is going well and I can’t complain money wise for my age (28). However I'm almost 30 and my fear is that when all is said and done other than gaining some experience my above qualifications weren’t hard, and don’t really amount to anything. For example, my friends are becoming chartered in their respective industries, and I really don’t have anything substantial that I would call a ‘professional’ qualification. I worry if I lose my job my c.v. doesn't really amount to that much.