College student looking for advice on the best route to start learning options

Discussion in 'Options' started by razvanneagu, Aug 11, 2013.

1. Hello, I am a college sophomore studying finance in South Florida. I have been trading stocks for about a year, but more investing than actively trading. I am looking to learn to trade options because from what I have been reading I would have the possibility to make higher returns with less capital and less risk. If you have any book titles, websites or articles that you think would be more help to me than others, let me know, also I would be interested in taking a professional course whether it is online or class. Do you know of any good ones? Thank you for reading and any advice is greatly appreciated.

2. rtr1129

rtr1129

Depends on how you use options. If you are just buying options as a leveraged proxy for the stock, then you potentially have higher returns but also have much higher risk. One guy said trading options is like shaving with a lawnmower.

There are of course many options strategies. What kinds did you hear about that offer better returns with less capital and less risk? Sounds like the typical guy on the radio trying to sell you something.

3. Sign up for a free thinkorswim.com account. Use their play money feature and option education with option planet and red option. Great hands on experience without capital risk. surf

4. The options would not be used as insurance for stock investments, I am interested in investing straight into options. CBOE.com has a virtual trading program and also a lot of learning articles. What do you think of that website?

5. rtr1129

rtr1129