College Freshman just looking for someone to point me in the right direction please.

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by razvanneagu, Oct 2, 2012.

1. Hello, my name is Razvan, I am 20 years old and I am a college freshman pursuing a degree in Finance here in South Florida. I am very interested in starting a trading career when I am done with my degree but I also plan to get internships in my junior year which is why I want to learn as much as I can by then. My question is : What is the best path to take and learn the basics of day trading such as analysis, candle stick patterns and other terminology used on a regular basics. I want to do that for a month or so until I am comfortable and then start playing around with a demo account for a year and develop a system of my own which I can practice and try to follow on a daily basis. Please let me know what steps you took in your first years and what you think helped you the most. Any advice is greatly appreciated and if any of you are located in South Florida, I would love to meet you and talk in person. Once again, thank you and I look forward to your answers.

2. Smoker

Smoker

Hi Razvan,

This is a cut and paste of what I told my nephew in real life and another guy on this board that was also looking to be a professional trader. It is from a post on another thread.

The thread topic was "What's the difference between trader and portfolio manager?" but drifted into career advice.

I will try to give you more direct advice in the next couple days but taking off on holiday Saturday so got to get the portfolio set up for auto pilot so a little busy today.

The thread is here and there are several posts I hope you find informative and maybe valuable:

http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=164148&perpage=6&pagenumber=19

This is my general advice: