College degree help

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by JA_LDP, Jan 13, 2006.

1. JA_LDP

JA_LDP

I am a finance sophomore at Michigan State with a 3.5 gpa (working to get it up around 3.7 by graduation). I had a roth ira with Edward Jones for a couple years and this past summer I became aware of T/A and realized I can manage my own money much more effectively. I transferred my 5k account to optionsxpress. Since then, I have been reading everything I can (including ET everyday). So far, I have been swing trading and have had losses on a few trades but profits on several others. I use Metastock EOD.

I am extremely interested in the markets and I’m thinking about trading professionally as a possible career (or some sort of fund/money manager). From everything that I have read, the best courses to take are math (including physics), programming and then maybe finance courses. My advisor wants me to major in finance but take a few extra accounting courses so I can get an M.S. in accounting. It seems to me that unless I want to be a CPA, which I do not, all the advanced accounting courses are pointless.

I have already taken a ton of business courses and want to continue with finance. Would it be wise to double major in finance and say computer science or something else in the engineering college or would I be wasting my money and time? Other than a proven profitable track record, which degrees are best for getting a trading position with a firm? Also, if I major in engineering, which degree program in the engineering college is the best for someone with similar aspirations? Mechanical, electrical, computer engineering or computer science.

Thanks a lot. I appreciate your responses.

2. hoezx6r

hoezx6r

finance and comp sci is a great combo. also, the accy classes won't hurt if you have time for them - alot of types of OTC derivatives, for example, are heavily influenced by accounting issues. just depends on what type of trading you really want to go for.