College Advice

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by JDE13158, Nov 16, 2005.

1. JDE13158

JDE13158

OK, here is my situation: I've been trading stocks since I was around 15 and did a little in futures last summer. I've blown up a few times with small amounts of money, but I keep trying and learning. I have no doubt that one day I'll be able to trade profitably. I'm now a freshman at college. I planned on majoring in finance because the business school here is top 10 (finance is #7 I believe). However, I don't know if I'll be able to make it into the business school because the required work is too much for me to handle. More simply put, I just don't want to do it. My question is what majors should I consider if:

A.) I wanted to work for a major firm (I do know some people at Merrill Lynch), hedge fund, or prop.

B.) I wanted to trade for myself

I've heard many people say that college really can't teach you much about trading. Be that as it may, leaving college is not an option for me. I also think college is important in that it teaches one how to think. Also please do not respond saying that if I don't have the motivation to work hard enough for the business school here, then I won't have the motivation to work hard when it comes to trading. If I am interested in something (which I am trading) then I'll give it 110%.

Thanks in advance.

2. This is the other username I'll be on from now on. Just letting everyone know.

3. You don't want to do it because it is too much work, did I get that right? Unfortunately most majors that would lead to some kind of institutional trading role would require at least some background in hard majors, such as economics, math, statistics, computer science, etc.