cold feet after a successful period

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by kenten, Jun 10, 2009.

1. kenten

kenten

i have been trading stocks as a hobby for a long time, probably longer than 10 years. probably i am breaking even for these period.
    Last year i took an interest in the futures. I studied a lot , created some number of trading systems. tried some live. At the end i decided on a system. From the year end i employed this particular system.
    My system required me to be on the market all the time . I adjusted my daily routine as not to look at the prices after market close . Being on position overnight was the biggest cause of stress.
    At the beginning i was following the system every step, then started to make some adjustments . These interventions didn't cause much harm, in fact some were very profitable. After five months i had a good profit .
    Then Last month i had some health problems , had to close positions to attend some procedures. all went well but after returning i had difficulty starting a position or sitting on it overnight. i tried to make some changes with no success.
    Now i feel i am scared to enter and carry positions all the time. I think i need to make some adjustments psychologically. But don't know what.
    I am here for comments and ideas.
    Before the break I had reached a round number position wise. I remember reading some book about that ( probably Ari Kiev's)
    Anyone experienced similar things , any comments will be most valuable.

p.s. i trade local indice futures, my system works just on that. so i am not here for selling anything , just for the insight.

2. MarkBrown

MarkBrown