Coding an Expert in TradeStation

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by WTB, Oct 29, 2005.

1. WTB

WTB

Hi all,

I trade Forex and I currently use MetaTrader 4 for charting, and I am studying the possibility of jumping into TradeStation because I have heard that its programming language is more powerful.

I have a question though: is it possible to program experts in TradeStation is order to backtest my systems? you know, the typical expert of "buy when close price in the daily chart crosses over the 55 EMA and add a possition when it crosses over 144 EMA, then sell at the crossback etc" type of thing.

Is TradeStation easy to program such things?

Thank!

2. mmillar

mmillar

Very simply it's done like this...

if close crosses over xaverage(close, 55) then buy next bar at market;
    if close crosses over xaverage(close, 144) then buy next bar at market;
    if close crosses below xaverage(close, 55) then sell next bar at market;
    if close crosses below xaverage(close, 144) then sell next bar at market;

There are more nuances when you come to have live strategies.

3. WTB

WTB

Thanks for the feedback guys. Another question: once that expert has been coded in, can you run in on, say, 5 years historical data and see the overall performance? you know, win/loss ration, total profit/loss, max drawdown, etc?

I need to have this questions answered before I signed up for TradeStation.

Thanks!

4. Assuming you can get 5 years of data from TS (you need a trading account with them for 99/month plus the initial account funds plus exchange fees or pay about 250/month if you don't), the answer is yes.

TS sometimes gives you a trial run for free, call one of their salespeople to see if they will do that for you. To me, you should try the software out before you start paying for it.

DS

5. rickty

rickty

If I could just piggy-back on this thread: