CME Euro FX

Discussion in 'Financial Futures' started by bugscoe, Dec 13, 2007.

1. I'm a total newbie when it comes to the futures market. I'm currently trading in the spot FX market and looking to switch over to the Globex.

My question is on eSignal, they list that the Traded Months for the Euro FX is H, M, U, Z.

Does this mean you can only trade this 4 months out of the year?

Thanks!

2. Surdo

Surdo

The market is closed until March!

Sorry....I could not resist.

It means right now until mid March the "front" month is March, then you roll over and trade June for 3 months.....etc.

Read up a little here.

http://www.cme.com/edu/

surdo

3. Damn, that wrecks my buzz!

4. JimyJam

JimyJam

Yeah I know.

The futs are built for scalpers/position traders.

Anyone with a different system of trading and capturing the really long-term gains that can be had from a good trend are penalized for it.

Good trading,

JJ

5. That actually made me laugh here.

:D

Sorry - you can trade 33% of the possible months available on your calendar. Just make sure you are ready to go on those 4 months b/c this thing will ROCK.

6. So then what are the alternatives?

Looks like sticking with the FX market is the only choice...

7. Surdo

Surdo

What happened to the other JimmyJam?

surdo

8. cvds16

cvds16

what exactly is the problem ? ? ? ?
    you just roll over four times if you want to hold a position for a year, you will pay a little commission but save much much much more on intrest rates ...

9. CME FX tracks the spot very well almost pip for pip with differences due to the prmeium/carry depending on how far out to expiration you are. They are liquid and spreads are 1 pip on most majors during regular US hours.