Cloud Computing for traders?

Discussion in 'Networking and Security' started by SelfMadeDude, Jan 8, 2020.

1. I'm new to the concept and am doing some research but...

Is it possible to trade via a cloud computer?

Sorry for the elementary-level question but I am not as tech-savvy as some of you guys and would like any guidance.

Ideally, I am thinking that I can log into my "cloud computer" via the Internet and use my broker platforms -- similar to as if I was at home?

Please advise. Thank you

2. Overnight

Overnight

Not sure about a "cloud computer" per se, but many brokers offer a collocated PC service with the machines usually housed like right there next to the exchanges you might wish to trade. Check with your broker to see if they offer the service. You log into them through the net and execute your platform (and trades) from there.

SelfMadeDude likes this.
  3. MrMuppet

MrMuppet

You're the first guy here on ET to ask this, congratulations :)

I do not understand why anyone would still trade via local machine when you can rent a VPS for a couple of bucks a month and have 99,99% uptime, stable internet, no need for UPS and so forth. You don't need expensive colocation services if you don't run sub second strategies.

Even if you use retail software install it on a VPS, run your orders there and sleep well for 15$/m

d08 likes this.
  4. MrMuppet,

Thanks for your insights.

Any good service providers you recommend?

The only one I have been able to review in-depth is Winity.

5. ZBZB

ZBZB

SelfMadeDude likes this.
  6. qlai

qlai

Multiple monitors with good graphics card? But I agree with you on the premise. One server that can be accessed from anywhere is ultimately what I would like to have.

7. I have a couple of questions:

1. What is a vps (google says Virtual private server - but do not know what that means) ? Is it a full fledged computer ? or like a more limited version with specific function ? Like only trading or something like that ?