Closed the futures daytrade account

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by taclander, Jul 19, 2011.

1. I shut down my futures account today. Have been meaning to do it for the last month, maybe longer. I couldn't do it, but finally got on the phone and sent out the wire instructions.
    I've been trading the indexes for ~12+ years, and it's a bitch to shut it down. Not that I need to explain, but it isn't because I crapped out. I have to take care of my family and now my Dad needs almost full time care and I'm taking it on. Almost the whole year now I have fired up the computer, charts, and platform, and then walked away with brief periods sitting down and pretending I was going to have time to trade.
    It must be like crack, as I have been a pain in the ass as a result of not being able to work, and admitting that I need to shut it down took way too long. Crap I still didn't shut down the charts even though I told the broker I'm done.
    I'm going to head back to the equity side and swing trade. I'll use options also, so I guess I have my fix planned all ready. I just hope I can get my thought process back to higher time frames, and not jumping in and out.
    Hopefully I can get some income generating strategies running, as I don't like the idea of walking away without added income in the account at the end of each month.
    There's my whine for the day.

2. rmorse

rmorse Sponsor

Good luck...........

3. Larson

Larson Guest

Sounds like a smart, disciplined move. Family problems can take a toll on your mental state and by extension, trading results. Best Wishes.

4. Great, thank you,,, one less player to take my money :)

Good luck, taclander

5. You're doing a good thing, wish you the best.

Remember to always make a little time for yourself, it helps.

6. spd

spd

I havent been daytrading lately because I have been working to help my dad as well. Honestly, I think its been beneficial.