Clearing a covered call

Discussion in 'Options' started by CloroxCowboy, Feb 19, 2009.

1. This post is related to another in the retail broker forum.

I use MB Trading (clearing firm is Penson), and found out recently that when I write a covered call the premium is being "held aside" by Penson in a separate account until the option is called, expires, or I buy it back. I am new to options, but isn't that premium supposed to be my cash immediately after I sell the call? Through MB I'm not allowed to use the premium to open additional positions and I don't collect interest on that money.

What's the deal? Doesn't this basically negate the attractiveness of writing a covered call?

2. They are cheating you. no two ways about it.

You are entitled to interest on the cash.

You are allowed to use that cash to partially finance the stock purchase - or to buy something else. If they prevent you from using that cash for longer than the day you sell the call, they a e cheating you.

Alternative: Sell cash-secured naked puts. Same risk.

Definitely need a new broker.

Mark

3. It makes no sense that they restrict the CC premium as you describe. That's because all the risk is "covered" by your underlying stock. There is no need to protect the broker from any risk. At least, that's my opinion.

All the brokers I have used add the CC premium to your cash account and pay interest.

Don

4. Thanks for the responses. As new as I am to options, I just couldn't see a clear advantage to writing an option and waiting until expiration to get paid...glad to know my first instinct was correct.

Do you think there's any way to fight this? Is this kind of thing regulated by the SEC, SIPC, etc? I like MB for their low commissions ($1 per contract), but perhaps this little scheme is how they are able to afford it...

5. ajacobson

ajacobson

Send a letter detailing your issue to Joanne Moffic Silver at the CBOE 400 South LaSalle Chicago 60605
    Copy MB trading on the letter