Chronicles of an Idiot

Discussion in 'Journals' started by VisionTrader, Jun 12, 2003.

1. I wanted to start this thread to discuss my trades and trading style for anyone interested. We started some discussion in another forum, but I did not think it was named properly. I think my metod is a convergence-divergence method, but I am really not sure. I sort of modeled what I do around another "for sale" trading system that I looked into, but I did not purchase it and do not understand it.

Also, I am by no means a professional trader (whatever that is) and do not recommend anyone use this for any actual positions. I do not trade everyday, but most days. I am going to try to post in here as close to real time as I can, but that is not my goal. Just want to discuss things with fellow traders.

Here is an example of one of my techniquesfor a long entry. This was posted in the other forum and I copied it over here.

06-11-03 11:53 AM

Basically...

I use the 1M chart on the ESM. Plot the Stochastic and MACD. If price makes a double bottom, but the Stochastic and MACD make higher lows, this is a signal to go long. The opposite for a double top in price.

I guess I assumed based on the threads I read that this was a fairly well know method. There are a lot of other variables in the "subjective decision" to enter a position but this is the basis premise of the method.

The goal is to capture 2 points per trade. Unfortunately, stop is also at 2 points. There are some variations on signals that represent an opportunity to capture more of a move.

Does this help. Here is a very basic example of a buy signal.

2. 06-11-03 12:12 PM
    TIMES