Choosing software package for testing and running an ATS

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by hrokling, Dec 27, 2006.

1. I'm a discretionary trader, but want to set up a system to trade US stocks. I've got a very clear idea of the system, but I'm kind of uncertain of what software package to choose for both creating and testing, but not least actually running the system.

I'm currently looking into the German system TradeSignal, which looks very good actually, but unfortunately has limited info available in English (no manual translated yet, no English forums - which would basicly leave me with "normal" customer support).

I'm pretty certain that Neoticker would be a good option, but it might be a bit on the expensive side (cost isn't really a problem though).

I doubt Tradestation could do it, at least the backtesting on a portfolio part would be a big hassle there. Also, starting with a big Stock Universe every day, then narrowing it according to criterias could be a bit much for TS8. Wealth Lab Developer has portfolio testing, but I'm actually a bit worried it might be too slow to handle it all.

Anyway here's more info on the system (cut down in detail):

STOCK UNIVERSE
    Probably in the range of 2000-3000 symbols (US). The criteria is average daily volume should be more than 5m USD. Preferably the system should be able to update the list of stocks within this criteria by itself - this isn't important however, as it could be done manually once in a while.

The following filters then apply for choosing trading candidates:
    OPEN PRICE up so and so much
    FIRST 30-MIN LOW - relative to yesterday's close
    TODAYS VOLUME

After using these filters the number of stocks to follow for the rest of the day should be significantly reduced, making it possible to watch the LAST price for the symbols for the rest of the day.

Then entry criterias follow of course, along with exits, stoploss, profit targets, money management etc etc.