Choosing Routes

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by woosterboy, Mar 4, 2004.

1. Hello Everyone,

Let me say thanks in advance to anyone who can provide some insight on this subject. I am new to ET, having just learned about it recently in a class on the real tick platform. And I only have just over 2 years experience with the markets at all, but I have learned what at times seems alot, and most of the time seems like the very tiniest tip of the iceberg. So reading through a lot of the threads posted here is helpful also and I'm glad for this community.
    Before posting this thread, I read all of the threads in the order execution section and have gone to the various sites , i.e. ARCA, INET, etc. and read as much as I could find and now am possibly more confused then I was. My first direct access broker was Cybertrader and then about 1 year ago I switched to IB. Both of them of course have "smart" routing built into their platform and at the time I made the decision based on the type of trading I was doing and how much else I was still trying to learn , to not try to self direct my orders.

Now , however I am changing to the Real Tick platform and am trying to figure out what routes to use for both listed and Nasdaq stocks. I've read various takes on this where some people seem to pick one route and use it almost exclusively and others who seem to "pick" the best route based on the security they are trading at that time, etc. I don't know if I am putting too much emphasis on this or not, but from the posts in some of these threads it seems every bit as important as any other piece of the puzzle. I spoke with someone at the broker and he was suggesting sticking with ISI and OSE for NYSE stocks and although I've found references to both of these, that's about it, can't find a site for either one, don't even know what the acronyms stand for.
    I hope this isn't too much of a newbie question and Again , thanks in advance for any help in this matter.