Chicago option MM start-up

Discussion in 'Options' started by AnonTrader08, Sep 28, 2008.

1. Hi all,

I am currently a trader at a major Chicago based option market making firm. Myself and several associates have recently made the decision to depart to form our own trading group. We are seeking margin capital in the low to mid 7 figures, preferably from an experienced source willing to grow with us. Do you know of any firms or individuals interested in this type of backer arrangement?

Thanks,

2. With all due respect, how can you consider departing without capital?

Mark

3. Put 7 figures of your own money up and maybe some additional capital will join you. And unless you have pilfered your previous employer's technology, what gives you the confidence to presume that you can compete? If you're planning on being just another Actant or similar vendor's customer then game, set, match - you lose.

4. try Citadel- if you're up YTD I'm sure they would bite.

The world is your Oyster....

THE WORLD IS AN (ONE'S) OYSTER - "If you have a lot of money, you can have anything you want. The proverb first appears in Shakespeare's play 'The Merry Wives of Windsor' (1600).'Falstaff: I will not lend thee a penny. Pistol: Why, then, the world's mine oyster, Which I with sword will open.' Act II, Scene II."

5. The market making business is not all that great these days. Unless you have solid deals in place for payment for order flow and things of that sort you're way behind the curve. The fixed costs these days have gone through the roof too. Hardware, software, data vendors, seat leases and the associated fees are pretty steep.