Chessmans Journal

Discussion in 'Journals' started by chessman, Jun 19, 2003.

1. chessman

chessman Guest

The lizard ... just hangs around on the rock ... and waits and waits and waits ... for his pattern to show up ... and when a bug comes along, he makes his move, right from the gut, without thinking about it.

Moral: When trader becomes that automatic, then he, too,
    can hang around on a rock and catch a lot of bugs. -- Ed Seykota

Background: As you can tell from my other useless threads I am a systematic swing trader. I primarily trade futures, crude oil, t-notes, gold etc. Unfortunately I have never been able to make any good money trading the stock indices until I came across the Russell 2000 index.

I find the Russell very smooth and ideal for swing trading.

Trading methodology: Channel breakouts, 15 min chart, 19 period channel. The key to my strategy with Russell is that I base my analysis off the cash index $IUX. Then I apply the signals
    in my case to the Russell emini future, one could also use IWM (tracking stock).

Trading vehicle: Russell 2000 index --> emini futures ER2 or IWM

Reason for the Journal:

1) Work on my psychology, trying to combine intuition with a mechanical trading system. Please see my thread 'How does George Soros Know what he knows'. The above system is marginally successfully, I think the key is to use intuition to scale out of positions. However as you will see in the ensuing weeks, I seem to get possed by some demon and don't always do things
    in my best interest or stick to my system.

2) There are many gifted traders here on ET. Hoping they will shed some light on my style, money management, psychology etc.

3) I have a few friends who are also ET members, its a good way to share my Russell trading with them.

I look forward to your constructive comments !

2. chessman

chessman Guest

System long from yesterday, bought at the highest tick of the day 458.80. (ER2U03)

Stop 456.40 ($IUX)