Chat room reviews

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Turok, Dec 5, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Turok

Turok

As I promised Don Bright earlier and on another thread, here is a short review of my experiences with the chat rooms/services I have used in the last year.

I started trading almost exactly one year ago and didn't know a single soul that traded and I wanted to have some sort of guidance. After researching a bunch of rooms I decided that the Underground Trader was right for this newbie.

The bottom line on Jae's room is that it saved me a ton of money. He spends a great deal of time encouraging (in a pretty blunt way) the traders NOT to trade. "Newbies don’t trade the open. Don't trade the last hour. Don't trade the dead zone. Don't trade this low volume crap. Don't trade this chop. Don't trade, don't trade, don't trade." We used to joke…jeeez, when can we trade? Well, as it turns out, not trading saved my bacon – that and only trading tiny shares (which he also encourages). I was able to spend less than 10 grand before my equity curve began to climb (and that was without IB – it would have been something like 3K if I had known about them).