Chat Room Conduct

Discussion in 'Feedback' started by Thunderdog, May 28, 2003.

1. This is an open letter to all Elite Trader chat room users as well as the Web site administrators.

I have been visiting the chat room almost daily for several months and have enjoyed the exchange and camaraderie with the other participants. I also learned a bit more about trading than I knew before. For all this I am grateful.

However, with increasing regularity, I have been verbally assaulted and abused by one participant, OPTIONAL 777. It is entirely possible that this trader is as good as he says he is, however, that does not preclude him from being a thug. I came to the Elite Trader chat room for exchange and conversation and, for the most part, this is what I have found. However, OPTIONAL 777’s vulgar, abusive and unrelenting diatribes toward me have become unbearable, and so, as I had mentioned to you all, I will not be returning.

I am just a struggling “trader” trying to get by, who is not yet profitable. I suspect there are many others out there like me. Yet, I continue in the best way I know how with the full knowledge that trading is a difficult and lonely occupation that relatively few succeed at, and that I may not become one of those relative few. Therefore, for my part, I have always sought to keep the chat light, supportive and fun. Along the way, I would pick up the occasional tidbit of useful information. I think this is how a chat room should be. That is why I have never criticized anyone for the simple reason of tearing him down. Trading is hard enough without people kicking you in the teeth when you are at your most vulnerable. Further, I have never insulted anyone except in self-defense, notably against OPTIONAL 777 and, more recently, his new toady, Brosh.

Perhaps for these reasons, several of you had mentioned that you did not have a “problem” with me, and I suppose I should take some comfort in that. But I do not.