Chartered Accountant

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by baller1069, Nov 24, 2007.

1. I am in my second year of university and want to trade after I am done - this is the goal. I have traded for a year and have been profitable. Enough to sustain a living - probably not. Anyways, my university has a coop program and I was wondering what kind of job I should try to get. My GPA is very good and my resume is also solid - so I am probably one of the top candidates. I am wondering if I should take a job with one of the big four accounting firms...E & Y, KPMG, Deloitte, and PWC or look for a finance job possibly in I-banking or as a equity analyst, or some trading assistant (there aren't many trading jobs at - maybe 1 or 2 - and they are just trading assistants).

I somewhat look at this job simply as a backup plan if trading doesn't work out down the road. This should impact my decision. The Chartered accounting route is appealing because if I do all my coop terms in accounting I can get my designation quite fast and be a CA by age 24. However, being a CA could be very boring and something in finance could be a lot more interesting...

anyone have any advice...

2. Only mediocre talents and ultra-conformists chose "accounting programs".

You will make a fine cog in someone's wheel someday...
    But most successful pro traders are the opposite...
    Genius level non-conformists.

3. grrr i wanna major in accounting too

4. I'm not in an accounting program. I am in a business/commerce program. Its the coop job that is accounting. If I went that route I would start taking more accounting courses but the program isn't accounting.

I am typically a non-conformist but I decided I would finish school and now I have to pick a coop job and the only real options are finance or accounting...

5. oo

6. you are probably from South Africa as it is the only place that really pushes the CA designation while london.