Chart Package for QQQ's

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by chamol, Jan 4, 2002.

1. chamol

chamol

I day trade only the QQQ's, between 10 and 30 round trips per day, using IB as an execution platform.

My question is what chart package would be most suited for this application?

I used Cyber when I started trading and I remember thinking their chart package was pretty good - but then I moved to IB, so I couldn't take the package with me. For the past year or so I have used IQ charts and have found them okay - but somewhat limited in that there are only fixed time periods such as 1 minute, 5 minutes etc.

I happen to want a 3 minute stochastic - meaning a package with a scalable time frame and have asked IQ but they don't seem to be going any place with it.

Also, it is a bit light in other areas, although very good value for the $35 or so a month.

Can anyone who just trades the QQQ's suggest a chart package I can use - IB's is not suited for intra day work. Appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.

2. If you have to have 3 minute bars, that will limit your choices. QCharts would be ideal for you but only has 1 and 5 minute bars.

3. chamol

chamol

Thanks, AAAintheBeltway.

My experience with a scalable package somewhat leads me to the conclusion that I could sharpen up entries and exits just a touch. I use the 1 minute stochastic as well as TOS to make a final decision, but find the noise generated sometimes is hard to discern from a true trend change.

I may find that a scalable indicator will only sharpen it a touch, but in my game, pennies count.

Thanks for your help.

4. Metastock Pro (real-time version) scales from 1 to 60 min.

5. chamol

chamol

Thanks, Sharps4570.

Have you used this package - if so - how do you like it??

6. IRAF

IRAF