?Changing the tax rate?

Discussion in 'Taxes and Accounting' started by kmkkra, Apr 13, 2008.

1. kmkkra

kmkkra

Hello to anyone who reads this...

I am just starting to learn how to trade, and about finance.
    I have just recently learned that any capital gains above $100,000 are taxed at a rate of either 35% or 39%(I don't know which one). This, in my opinion, is insane. I know the government needs money, and that running a country can be expensive, but this percentage is NOT EXCEPTABLE!!! If I were to make $10,000,000 profit through trading stocks or through owning a business I would have to pay at least $3,900,000 in taxes. I think that paying $2,000,000, however, would be MORE than enough! I mean, honestly, I wouldn't even spend percentages like that on myself, and yet the government just expects me to hand over this percentage?

If I were making $100,000+, I, personally, would be willing to pay 20% without any fuss.

However, if there were people(voters) out there who, for some strange reason, actually wanted to be taxed at a higher rate. Then, with great anger and hesitancy, I would be willing to pay as much as 25%, but not a penny more!

Anyway, my Questions are:

(1) Are there any oranizations out there that are trying to lower this ridiculous tax rate, and who are they?

(2) What do you feel about paying 35% or 39% on taxes?

THANK YOU for responding...

2. erd0c

erd0c

This is going to sound silly but, welcome to the highest tax bracket.

being salaried and in this tax bracket is the worst because it gets taken out right away.

If you own a business and deduct itemized then you have a chance to get it lower (i.e. computer, internet connection, educational (books, subscriptions, etc)

if you have a job and get bonuses, all bonuses are taxed at the highest rate regardless of your base salary.