Change of Pace: Looking for advice...

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Colombo, Jun 7, 2005.

1. Colombo

Colombo

Hello everyone. First let me say that I enjoy reading all of your forums and have found your comments and conversations very enlightening. I hope you can help me out with my situation:

I am 32 and have been working in the field of International Financial Advisory with High Net Worth individuals for the last 8 years. I am currently working at one of the large Brokerage Firms.

Two years ago I started trading one of my client's leveraged FX accounts on and off ( I take time off of work to trade, 3 days, 5 days two weeks, etc) The account is in the mid six figures of which I use between 5-10% to leverage 100:1 trading EUR, JPY, CHF, GPB, etc. on an intraday basis, closing out positions at the end of the day. I look for very small profits (3-6) pips per trade as my objective. I have been succesfull in doing so during the times I have dedicated to doing this. Negative trades exist but overall daily results are for the most part usually positive. I stay away from the 8:30 reports and try to catch the market when two or three hours after news has been announced.

I have gotten to the point where my client has asked me to do this on a full time basis for him. I have other clients I am sure would participate in my potential role as an IB. Raising assets is not a problem. After two years of seeing positive results during the time I take to do this and weighing the pros and cons, I am considering seriously this client's proposal.

I would be leaving an excellent career with good money making potential to day trade my client's accounts...... does this sound crazy?
    For obvious reasons I cannot obtain opinions from colleagues at work as they would more than likely think I am out of my mind for even considering it.

Am I crazy for even considering this? Any similar experiences? What is to be expected? What other things should I consider?