Chadwick's reach for success

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Chadwick, Jan 10, 2006.

1. Chadwick

Chadwick

I keep a lot of notes for myself and a few others, and there's really no better resource than ET to document these musings for potential criticisms, positive or negative. I'm hoping that others will derive value from my quest and that those knowledgeable will be candid in their replies.

I've been trading off several years, but in the past year or so I've taken a much more active interest. I trade mostly equities, but I have been known to hedge or speculate with options. I am a self-employed consultant (software), and I have a successful career. Why is that important? I'm not trading for a paycheck, and every trade I list in this journal will be real and with my money. I paper traded for a while just like others, but without the emotional involvement I found myself too removed. I actually wanted the torment and sleepless nights that drawdowns bring, and I've had my share.

My goal is, like everyone else, to be successful. How successful? I hate setting artificial limits, but my most immediate goal would be to double my money every three years. Not that ambitious for some perhaps, but with such a foundation it would allow me to take things further.

My style is likely best described as one who identifies trends, their accompanied momentum, and positions himself accordingly. I typically take position sizes relative to what I consider to be the strength of the trend, and I set my stops accordingly as well. I will explain my entry price, rationale for entry, price objectives, and stops for each stock I list.

Over the past few months I have started to develop an automated trading platform, and I typically use that to give me signals. At the moment I still enter trades manually, and I still review the charts to be certain.

That's all for now. If anyone has any questions please feel free to ask!

2. Chadwick

Chadwick