CFA: worth the time and money?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by elstontrader, Apr 15, 2010.

1. I'm an undergraduate studying Economics and am considering pursuing a CFA in order to work in the financial sector as trader or financial analyst?
    Is there any CFA's our there willing to share input?
    Pro's and Cons?
    Master's in Finance vs CFA?

BTW: I'm open to anybody with experience in the financial sector, not just CFA holders.

2. I think in consideration of the fact that there are thousands of CFA applications, it does not have the same exclusivity as before.

To make the answer simple, the CFA is very specific and can help with certain jobs. But overall, i don't think people give a shit outside of equity research and portfolio management.

It may help on interviews bc it shows dedication, hardwork and the ability for one to have a capacity to understand hard concepts. But when a person has achieved a given level of experience, it does not give you any edge. It might help for entry level participants who need any angle u can get.

3. Allow me to share my opinion with you. My perspective is one of a person who has worked both on the buy and sell side as a trader for 10 years now, and is currently studying for the level 2 portion of the CFA.

Within "The Business", a CFA designation is taken quite seriously. If you're serious about your career, few things show it better than attaining a CFA designation.

To answer another posters comments:

1.)The CFA is "specific", if by specific you mean "specific to the field of finance." You'll get a good explanation for nearly ever facet of high finance through the course of your study. Certainly you will not learn more than somebody who has been working in a specific field, but you'll gain a much better understanding of the interlocked world of finance.