CFA designation - What's it good for?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by FortuneSmiles, Mar 10, 2006.

1. I really want to be a money manager/portfolio manager/daytrader/positiontrader/etc...

I have a BA degree in mathematics from a good school in Costa Rica. I have never taken a finance course in my life and know nothing about financial statements or any of that. I have done a little trading but feel the need to learn more about the financial markets so I can make decisions like Fund managers do (i.e. get x% long oil y% short dollar/yen z% cash....etc...). Up to this time, I have only daytraded single securities at a time. I know nothing about portfolio management whatsoever. I have never been long or short multiple securities at the same time. I want to learn how to make decisions regarding portfolio management. I want to be analyze current state of affairs in the world and make portfolio decisions based on what is observed. I don't know where to start. I don't know how to go about doing this.

Rather than do an MBA, I was thinking about pursuing my CFA. It's cheaper than an MBA, and seems to be a respected designation in the Mutual Fund/Hedge Fund/Money Management world. Unless, I have been misled. If anyone out there knows differently, please post your comments here.

Do big firms like Goldman Sachs/Bear Stearns/CHASE/Lehman Brothers look favorably upon candidates who have passed all three levels of the CFA? If I have a BA and the CFA designation will I be able to compete against people who have BA and MBA? I am talking, specifically, about hedge fund, mutual fund, and money management / investment positions.

I will be very happy to hear responses from anyone with an opinion on this topic.