CBOT Mini Sized Dow Future-YJ

Discussion in 'Index Futures' started by Pumpanddump, Jul 5, 2003.

1. I am interested in learning motr about this contract.

I am a newbie. My guess is that if it is a $2 dollar contract, it would be a, for example, $2 x 9,000 (arbitrary number)=$18,000 buy order????????

I have heard that the buy value is actually at or around 5-20 percent of that value?

I want to learn about these contracts and I thoguht this would be a good place to start.

Can you guys tell me where I can trade such contracts?
    Where is a good place for me to go for real time quotes?

I really appreciate it.

2. the 2 dollar contract no longer exists. ym is the current dow emini contract. 5 dollar increments.

best,

surfer

3. jay567

jay567

go to www.cbot.com to learn more about the mini dow contract.
    ib is a good place to trade.
    i use ensign with an esignal data feed.

4. Yes, the $2 Dow contract was discontinued. Unfortunately, there was not much interest in it. However, I think it would have been a good "training" contract for new futures traders had it flourished. Unlike stocks, where the trader can take as few shares as he wants, futures require the trader to take a minimum of one contract. For many of the less-capitalized traders out there, this meant taking on bigger size than they were used to when they were trading, like, 200-300 shares of stock. For example, one ES contract is the same size as 500 SPY shares. One NQ contract is the same size as 800 QQQ shares. So, at 2/5ths the size of the $5 contract, I think YJ would have been a good stepping stone to the bigger contracts, like YM, ES, and NQ. The new trader could have learned to use scaling-in and out, and the inevitable mistakes that a newbie makes would have been less painful with the smaller size. Too bad it didn't last.

Regarding YM quotes, I use eSignal and am very happy with the feed.

PEG LEG JOE

5. Although YJ is not longer around, YM is a good alternative....