CBOE Clerk

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by Market252, Jun 1, 2010.

1. Market252

Market252

I was wondering if anyone could give me any insight on how to land a Clerking/Runner position at the CBOE. Im a recent college grad and have my sights set on starting at the bottom of a firm and learning the trade. If anyone could help me out it or give me any pointers it would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

2. Maverick74

Maverick74

Do you own a time machine?

3. RedDuke

RedDuke

Like Mav said, these positions are things of the past. Pits are gone for the most part.

I suggest to start reading this forum and try to figure out what kind of trading interests you.

4. look on craigslist sometimes they have stuff on there...or find a firm that is on the floor and see if they have jobs.

5. LMAO..

6. Dogfish

Dogfish

7. The only actual trading pit left at the CBOE is the SPX. There are no CBOE clerking jobs available with trading firms. To get an entry level job with a CBOE trading company you will need either quant or programming skills.

I suggest you look at the CME/CBOT companies, or perhaps even NYMEX trading firms.

If you really want to get into the cboe floor, you could apply with some of the brokerage companies or perhaps with the exchange itself. It is always easier to find a job when you are in the game somehow.

Do not send a resume to these companies. Walk in their door, sahke someone's hand and tell them you are eager to do whatever it takes to have a career in the business. Here's a few ideas though...

http://www.lakeshoresecurities.com/about_us.html --a brokerage company which still emphasizes human relationships as their main asset.

http://www.belvederetrading.com/ -- a large, mainly SPX trading firm. They actually have "trading assistant" in their job openings section.

http://www.chicagotrading.com/ --a very diversified derivatives trading company. Amazingly enough they have a "TA" or trading assistant job opening as well.