Cash Secured Puts

Discussion in 'Options' started by Hilcrest_trader, Sep 18, 2019.

1. I have a few CSPs that are ITM. They still have 29 DTE. I'm a relative newbie and I've never had stocks assigned.
    • Can the stocks be assigned at any time or is it more likely to happen in (say) the last 5 days?
    • Are there other criteria I need to consider - like depth ITM? If a CSP is ~10% in the money is it likely to be assigned early.
    Anything else I need to consider?

Thanks

2. Bum

Bum

I pay attention to the amount of premium in the options I'm short & ask myself if I was on the opposite side being long, would I exercise the options for any reason?

If there's any significant amount of premium left in the options, then it's not very likely to get exercised.

There are exceptions that might cause an exercise. If the options are thinly traded which causes a wide spread in the bid/ask then a trader might be better off exercising the option & immediately closing the position rather than trying to sell an option that has a poor bid/ask.

The example below is a stock trading @ 9.38.
    The options expire Oct. 18. (markets closed so bid/ask not real accurate)
    There's possibility of an exercise if short any call 8 & lower as there's very little premium in the calls.

The 8 is trading with less than .05 premium so could get exercised.
    The 9 is NOT likely to be exercised. If I were long the 9 calls, why would I exercise the calls when I could sell them for 9.60 then buy the stock for 9.38? Get it @ .22 cheaper than exercising the calls.

***More professional options traders here might have a better method of doing it. My options trading is mostly in futures so my "opinion" might not be suited as well for equities.
    option.quotes.png

Last edited: Sep 18, 2019
  3. taowave

taowave

If you are going to get assigned,its most likely to happen on a deep put after the stock goes ex dividend.