Case Study: An ET Made Trader

Discussion in 'Journals' started by mropp, Aug 17, 2007.

1. mropp

mropp

Hi All,

I am starting a journal here to vet my trading strategies, reference my past and future mistakes and triumphs, and to gain insight and opinion from successful traders that can hopefully lead to my own successful trading pattern over time.

I figure there are countless others that fit my fall within the realm of my situation as well that can also benefit and share their woes and success.

Below I am outlining my current situation to take into consideration while reviewing/commenting.

Background:
    I've been trading as an investor, swing trader and day trader since about 1994. I am a software engineer that is quite astute in problem solving, logic, situational awareness and anticipation. When I want to do something, it becomes almost OCD where I will spend countless

Positions:
    For the last year and change everything has been a long term hold, and really not paid attention to regularly sitting with t-stops. CVS did wonders.

After the first ugly day in late July I liquidated mostly everything and moved out around 70k to high yield savings.

I kept about $28k in as I would start taking advantage of the crazy market to start making gains via short term trading, as I have don't have a lot confidence in holding (long or short) for long periods of time until it shakes out a bit more.

Strategy/Approach:
    Now, I know the ins and outs of the economy, currency, how everything ties together. When it comes to intraday trading, I know just enough to be dangerous, because I'll have all the stars aligned, make 3 winning roundtrip trades/scalps, and then the next one or two will move against me so huge and fast it wipes those out and then some. I've been tinkering with adjusting stops, but that hasn't plugged the holes.