Carry both long and short position over night

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by TaoTrader, Jun 18, 2003.

1. TaoTrader

TaoTrader

I am a newbie looking to open a future account. But I have a question that I know many of you knows about it. I would appreciate if some one give me some info on this.

Here is the question:

1. Is it possible to carry both long and short position in future account?

So far this is some of the info that I got>
    1. Govt. regulation prohitbit you do that.
    2. It is possible if there are different month contract, but not the same contract.
    3. No it is not possible, you would have to open 2 accounts, one for long, one for short. This is from Tradestation brokerage.
    4.Govt regulation prohitbit you to carry long and short in different account in same brokerage. But on the same account it is OK, becase they cancel each others.

As you can see, some of the answers contradict each other, of course it could be just brokerage specific. I do not know. So can some one clear this for me.

2. jessie

jessie

Another question is why? If it's the same position, it's pointless. For example, if you are long sep beans and short sep beans at the same time, you are flat, and will make exactly the same thing on one side as you lose on the other (except you will lose the commissions), so there is no point. If you are talking about holding both puts and calls, that is perfectly legal, whether in the same account or different ones. If you are talking about different months, that is fine too, that's just a calender spread.
    Jessie

3. TaoTrader

TaoTrader

reason for both long and short in one account. It is base on different strategy. One for trend following and the other for shorter term time frame. I then find it necessary to carry both long and short positoin over night some time. I then find out this issue.