Career Transition

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by DylanTrades, Aug 16, 2006.

1. I am writing this post to gather information about a career transition into trading. Some background info - I am young thirties with an MBA. I am a small business owner – and the salary that I will generate for myself this year from the business will be above 80K. (The business is an education based business and is open during the week starting at 3pm in the afternoon – I have my mornings and early afternoons free. We are also open on Saturday.)

Over the last two years I developed an interest in Trading, (through reading and research) and I feel it is turning into a passion. As far as the big firms I know that opportunity has sailed due to my age and lack of trading experience. I am trying to find a way to incorporate trading into my life via a Prop Firm and wonder if there is anyone out there who has had success in a similar situation. I understand that it could take a significant amount of time trading before I see a dollar so I don’t want to jump ship from my current financial situation. But I feel like if I don’t try my hand at educating myself and pursuing trading I might grow to regret it – and I feel I have enough free time and drive to pursue this as a possible career.

I have met with a few firms, and one actually said that they would allow me to trade on my schedule. But at the end of the day if I burn out it is my $5,000 and commissions that will be lost. I live outside of NYC and wondering are there any Prop firms that trade the European Markets either in NY or NJ? If it is a company that trades the NYSE - is training remotely a valid option – or does that further magnify the chance of not succeeding? Also if anyone has any advice or input to add regarding this situation it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

2. MTI_44

MTI_44